Challenge Weeks 4 and 5: Media and a Memory

The Journey of Harry the Teddy Bear
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: 仁仔 何 via Compfight

A one foot tall brown bear held my one year old caption every day for about three years. If I didn’t have it next to me, I would cry. If it wasn’t in my bed, I couldn’t sleep. I went everywhere with my brown bear. Little Bity Brown Bear.

My mom gave me my bear when I had just started walking. Even if I forgot it someplace, she would bring it for me, until I could remember to hold it with me. After a few weeks, I had almost made my bear the most disgusting thing ever. There was some apple juice on it, melted cheese, Oreo crumbs, milk, and even some urine on it. All of that on the bear combined to look like the bear was run over, thrown up on, and flushed down a toilet eighteen times. Eventually the bear was washed and looked good as new.

I also loved my bear like the brother I never had. I did have a brother, but not one that wouldn’t tell on me if I stole his cookie, or if I didn’t brush my teeth, or if I didn’t wash my hands after using the bathroom. This bear was the type of brother that is always there for you, will take a hug, hug you back, is soft, and will say whatever you want it to. (If you imagined it was talking) I will never give Little Bity Brown Bear away. Ever.

7 thoughts on “Challenge Weeks 4 and 5: Media and a Memory

  1. I remember when I was really young I had a little blue blanket that I couldn’t sleep without with, and one day my dog ate it and I was so sad. After about two weeks I finally got over it.

  2. I used to, and still do, have a teddy bear just like that. I would take it everywhere with me. Just like you.

  3. I also used to have a a stuffed animal that my parents had given me, except mine was a koala that my dad had won at a carnival game. I also had to have it next to me when I slept.

  4. I really like how you incorporated great imagery into your post. When I am reading your post, I feel like I can picture myself in the same situation as you. The way you described the teddy bear in the second paragraph can make me picture how disgusting it looked.

  5. Well written story Ryan! I too had a special thing I always had with me as a kid, a blanket. I really like how you described all the food/ drinks that have been on your bear. I can totally imagine how much that bear meant to you.

  6. I’ll be honest I was surprised how emotional this post was. Really good.

  7. Ryan this is so good! You really captured my attention when you described your brother like bear. I can really tell how attached you are to your bear. This piece reminded me how I’m also really attached to this blanket I got (and still have) when I was born. Even though it’s tattered and torn I will never give away my blanket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*